seasons.

I wish I’d known how much I meant to you
Because I still stay up until late hours of the night trying to piece together the what ifs
We left things open-ended,
Left the house we called a home burning
And we never found our way back
To the beginning
Where everything was picture perfect,
Placed on top of the mantle piece with a bow on top
Presents were left to rot under the Christmas tree we put up together
Along with unspoken apologies

I wish I knew exactly what I meant to you
Because I knew that you were the beginning of Summer,
The kind of calm and chaos rolled into one
With orange sunsets and green lights flashing at the horizon
You were the kind of mornings I looked forward to every night,
The type of lazy days I wish I had everyday
By the time Autumn fell and the leaves changed colors,
I knew you were something different
And I fell in love with the way the leaves laid to rest on the floor
And the way the winds blew them away from home
By Winter,
All the leaves were gone
Along with the person I knew
I just wanna know if the seasons mean as much to you as they did to me
Because it’s Spring
And the leaves are returning
Just how we go about each other every season of every year
Just like how I constantly return back to the point of where we met
Trying to find pieces of the memories we left
I’m forging letters upon letters for you,
Knitting words of poetry to you,
I’m sorry this gets repetitive
Because everything I write is about you
I just want to know if they ever meant anything to you
Did the seasons ever mean anything to you?

Leave a comment