poetry

don’t fall in love with me
i write poetry for a living
and i’ll make your flesh
my paper
the type of skin
i’d crave to keep eternal
i’ll trace love letters down your spine
make homes out of your goosebumps
i’ll find the universe in your eyes
see the world from your point of view
i’ll make a sky out of you
protect you from the rainstorms you create
then carve out a love so great
see
i know my self-worth
had me digging it out from under my skin
for 20 odd years
and i could make or break this with the touch of my pinky
you could wrap me around your finger
and i’ll pinky promise that i’d do the same
and if you know your worth
then maybe this could work

Leave a Reply

